Kickoff Show: Westwood football coach Scott Syrjala

2017: 9-2, lost in district finals

Key Losses: OL Tabin Filizetti, OL/LB Ethan Homola, WR/DB Ethan Burke, TE David Delayre

Key Returners: QB/FS Nathan Beckman, OL/DL Sam Gilles, RB/LB Ashton Bergman, OL/DL Blake Hewitt, RB Taylor Dellangelo

Westwood football is coming off its best season in program history and its first playoff win since 2009. Now in a new conference, the Patriots have the target on their backs and won’t take anyone by surprise. Head coach Scott Syrjala joined the Kickoff Show to discuss expectations for his team and give his thoughts on conference realignment.


Interview: Todd Goldbeck, UP football all-star game

Todd Goldbeck is the organizer of the annual UP football all-star game, which kicks off Saturday, June 30 at 1 p.m. at the Superior Dome.

0:00-1:02 – This week is culmination of months of hard work
1:03-2:49 – Rundown of events this week
2:50-4:15 – Impact charity events have on the kids
4:16-5:49 – Best players changing positions possibly
5:50-7:14 – Game comes down to matchups
7:15-8:52 – Differing approaches of coaches
8:53-10:05 – Best athletes in this game don’t always play linebacker or running back

Here are the players and coaches participating in the game:

Black Team Players
Ryan Arndt Bark River-Harris
Jesus Becerra Stephenson
Tyler Blakely Newberry
Joshua Boulden Norway
Ethan Burke Westwood
David Carlson Newberry
Logan Carroll Escanaba
Alex Chouinard Gladstone
Donald Denofre Ishpeming
Garrett Dodds Pickford
James Domitrovich Ontonagon
Tabin Filizetti Westwood
Wyatt Filkins Marquette
Aaron Hainault Lake Linden
Mike Hall Bark River-Harris
Hayden Haslow Escanaba
Grant Hokenson Hancock (Chasell)
Bryce Hornick Stephenson
Spencer Husbye Gladstone
Kooper Jahfetson L’Anse
Jason Janquart Menominee
Kaleb Johanson Brimley
Damarius Johnson Rudyard
Daniel Johnson Gwinn
Wade Krysiak Superior Central
Jonah Logan Forest Park
Jared Miller North Dickinson
Mike Miller North Dickinson
Trey Norris Cedarville
Dante Pedrotti Norway
Sawyer Perpich Kingsford
Josh Plante Norway
Robert Ponchaud Forest Park
Jake Rajala Houghton
Bailey Ribich Gogebic (WM)
Francis Scheid Sault Ste Marie
Kyle Seeley Manistique
George Sevarns Newberry
Preston Strong Kingsford
Jon Sturm Kingsford
Brayden Tomes Gogebic (Bessemer)
Dominic Wagner Lake Linden
Micah Wilson Norway
Jake Witt Ontonagon (ETC)
Black Team Coaches
Al Stenberg Bark River-Harris
Bob Maycroft Bark River-Harris
Kevin Mileski Bark River-Harris
Scott Syrjala Westwood
Brad Wiljanen Westwood
Luke Gray Westwood
Mitchell Messing Westwood
Red Team Players
Zack Albright Marquette
Aaron Barnes Hancock (Chassell)
Scout Bigger Engadine
Alec Blank Munising
Joseph Boik Pickford
Connor Bortolini Forest Park
Jayce Brockhagen West Iron County
Scott Cooper Houghton
Aaron Corkin Ishpeming
David Delayre Westwood
Jared Demeuse Gladstone
Jeff Doboy Stephenson
Dakota Fairchild Cedarville
Liam Gayan Kingsford
Josh Grassel Escanaba
Mason Gustafson St. Ignace
Logan Hardwick Rapid River
Gavin Harris Rapid River
Brandon Henschel West Iron County
Ethan Homola Westwood
Darin Johnson Gladstone
Chase Kreski Kingsford
Jarrett LaCasse Rapid River
John LaMothe Pickford
Ramsey Luft Superior Central
Foster Miller L’Anse
Connor Ortman Norway
Austin Persson West Iron County
Eddie Plumley Kingsford
Jeff Rahilly Newberry
Joseph Rietveld Kingsford
Hunter Riley North Central
Jacob Rivard Menominee
Zach Robarge Forest Park
Peter Ropiak Forest Park
Johnny Schlenvogt Escanaba
Jeff Stenson Gladstone
Lucas Sundling Rapid River
Neil Tomasoski West Iron County
Jacob Tucker Iron Mountain
Cooper Twardzik Calumet
Cody Vandermissen Escanaba
Nick Voelker Calumet
Robby Williams Negaunee
Scout Wunder Escanaba
Red Team Coaches
Mike Berutti West Iron County
Kevin Leonoff West Iron County
Chris Thomson West Iron County
Chris Soha West Iron County
Rae Drake Jr. Bay College
Neil Clapp Escanaba
Jeff Olson Ishpeming
Kevin Grundy Wausau East


2018 Division I Boys Tennis Postseason Honors

Here are the 2018 Division I boys tennis postseason honors, as selected by the coaches.

Team of the Year:


U.P. Player of the Year:

Alec Olivier, Marquette

All-State Singles:

Alec Olivier, Marquette

Brett Hicks, Kingsford

Luke Skewis, Negaunee

 All-State Doubles:

Jakson Sager/Drew Lindberg, Negaunee

Daunte Fortner/Tyler Beauchamp, Kingsford

All-UP First Team Singles:

Alec Olivier, Marquette

Luke Skewis, Negaunee

Brett Hicks, Kingsford

Christer Carne, Escanaba

Sean Holmes, Gladstone

Tyler Kuester, Menominee

Chas Kumpula, Negaunee

Josh Grassell, Escanaba

All-UP First Team Doubles:

Jakson Sager/Drew Lindberg, Negaunee

Daunte Fortner/Tyler Beauchamp, Kingsford

Jonah Cole,Steven Polaski Menominee

Tyler Barteld,Colby Torvinen Gladstone

Addam Claes,Brandon Kangas Escanaba

All-UP Honorable Mention Singles:

Danny Pederson (2s), Gladstone

Nick McCole, (2s), Kingsford

Thomas Sertich, Negaunee

All-UP Honorable Mention Doubles:

Jacob Larson/Peyton Anderson, Negaunee

Preston Strong, Travis Taff (2d), Kingsford

Alex Valentine, Soren Thompson (2d), Escanaba